Skip to main content

Syndicate contentNews

Flag Day

June 14, 2015

Photo Credit
Amy Geer

Officers of Kane Elks Lodge #329 conducted its annual Flag Day ceremony on Sunday afternoon at the Evergreen Park gazebo across from the lodge on Chestnut Street. Participating in the program, which details the history of the U.S. Flag, included, from left to right, front row, Steve Gabriel,  Roni Cook, Lorri Forquer, Tyler Hannah, back row, Dave Rich, Paul Rich and Steve Rich.

'Skippy' McCloskey Scholarship

June 13, 2015

Photo Credit
Ted Lutz

Ricky Grundstrom (center), a 2015 graduate of Kane Area High School, is the winner of the Ian "Skippy" McCloskey Memorial Scholarship. The award was presented at commencement by Gene Staiger (left) and his wife, Nadine (right), who is McCloskey's mother. McCloskey, a 2000 graduate of Kane High School, was killed in a traffic accident related to driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol. Grundstrom graduated as the top student in both the Academic and the Vocational programs at Kane High School. He will attend Triangle Tech.

Ribbon-cutting at Kane business

June 10, 2015

Photo Credit
Ted Lutz

The Kane Chamber of Commerce held a recent ribbon-cutting ceremony to mark the opening of Rice's Small Engine shop at East Hemlock Avenue and South Fraley Street in Kane. Taking part in the celebration for the Husqvarna dealer are, left to right: Anne Albright, manager of the Kane office for State Sen. Joe Scarnati (R-Brockway); business owners Jerry and Amy Jones Rice; and Erin Vassallo, executive director of the Kane Area Development Center and the Kane Chamber of Commerce.

Alumni Memorial Awards

June 8, 2015

Photo Credit
Ted Lutz

Three 2015 graduates of Kane Area High School have each received a $4,000 Kane Alumni Memorial Scholarship. The group includes, left to right: Tyler Blankenship, Emily Truden, Ricky Grundstrom, scholarship recipients; and Becky Harris, president of the Kane High School Alumni Memorial Award Fund Board of Directors. Since 1985, the Alumni Memorial Award Fund has presented $188,000 in scholarships. Blankenship and Truden, both Honors students at Kane High, are bound for Penn State University.

Dignitaries for commencement

June 7, 2015

Photo Credit
Ted Lutz

Dignitaries for the commencement ceremony Friday at Kane High School include, left to right: Bob Gaetano, school district superintendent; Army Col. Lisa Forsyth, a 1983 Kane High graduate who was the main speaker; Todd Stanko, high school principal; and Claire Ann Buckley, president of the Kane School Board.

Students of the Month party

June 7, 2015

The Kane Elks Lodge sponsored a bowling and pizza party for the second semester Kane Area Middle School Students of the Month on Friday, May 22. Pictured left to right and top to bottom are: Jeanine Beane, Skylar Nicklas, Emily Hipolito, Mrs. Jennifer Stanko-School Counselor, Matt Geer, Carter Carlisle, Chase Trask, Mackenzie Shrubb, Ashlyn Avenali, Shania Carney, Eric Tudor, Halle Saf, Elise Johnson, Sierra Hillman, Katelyn Young, Adam Sicher, Jake Silvis, Jake Moore, Andy Geer, Aaron Hottel, Chad Greville. Absent from photo: Emma Ely, Jacob Hummel, Ella Marconi, and Hayden Barr.

May birthday's

May 31, 2015

Photo Credit
Amy Geer

Three members of the Kane Senior Center celebrated their May birthdays on Saturday night at the center on Fraley Street. Beverly Sivak, Jean Bartels and Judy Payne enjoyed a cake and fellowship after a pot luck dinner.

JBC scholarship-winners

May 29, 2015

Photo Credit
Ted Lutz

Harley Jefferds (left) and Raistlin Paar (center) have won scholarships to Jamestown, N.Y. Business College (JBC). Kane Area High School Co-Principal Jim Fryzlewicz (right) congratulates the scholarship-winners, both juniors. Jefferds is the daughter of Billie Jo and Joe Jefferds of Kane. Paar is the son of Jessica and Jason Paar of Mt. Jewett.

Giving blood in Kane

May 26, 2015

Photo Credit
Ted Lutz

Diane Marold of Kane donates blood Tuesday at the Community Blood Bank at the Kane Area Community Center. Mark Zielewski (right) is with the Erie-based Community Blood Bank, which will next visit Kane from noon to 5 p.m. July 28 at the community center.

Wins Christine Perry Award

May 26, 2015

Photo Credit
Ted Lutz

Kane High School Principal Todd Stanko (right) congratulates Tyler Weidenhoff (left) as the winner of the Christine Perry Award. Weidenhoff, a junior, is the son of Jim and Jodi Weidenhoff of James City. He received the award at the annual Academic Banquet at the school. The award is given in memory of Christine Perry, a high school teacher who was one of the original members of the Academic Award/Banquet Committee.

Events Calendar

Add to calendar
The Kane boys' soccer team scrimmaged Punxsutawney on Tuesday afternoon at home. The girls' and...
Wolves' quarterback Shane Rolick gets set to throw a pass downfield during Saturday's scrimmage...
Kane High fall sports teams got their official practices underway this week. Here, members of the...


Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes